The University opens its doors to the students. It has at the moment 4 Schools: Physics and Mathematics, History and Philology, Agriculture and Biology, and Chemistry (former Natural Science School of Nadejda Krupskaya Teachers Training Institute)
The University has opened the Botany Department, and the Human and Animal Anatomy and Physiology Department
Mari State University is awarded with the gold medal European Quality.
There are 10 professors of the Faculty of Physics and Mathematics working at two departments, the Department of General Physics and the Department of Higher Mathematics, met the first enrolment – 100 students admitted to the Mathematics and Physics departments of the faculty.
The Faculty of Foreign Languages which is preparing specialists and bachelors in the field of English, German and French philology, has a rich history from the moment of its formation as an independent structural unit of the Krupskaya Mari State Teacher Training Institute in 1952.
The Faculty of Law of Mari State University was created in 1993-1994. It became an independent structural unit of the university on October 27, 1993. This day is considered as the official date of its formation, the birthday of the faculty.
The modern Faculty of History and Philology as a structural unit of the university was founded on September 1, 2012 on the basis of two faculties: the Faculty of History and the Faculty of Philology and Journalism.
The Faculty of Physical Education, Sport and Tourism was opened in 1971. Since 1994 the permanent dean of faculty has been M. M. Polevshchikov, Candidate of Pedagogics, Professor, Honoured worker of the higher school of the Russian Federation. As a structural unit of the Teacher Training Institute the faculty trained about 1200 teachers of physical education.
The Faculty has two departments: Applied Mechanics, Machine Science and Technology Department and Theory and Methods of Technology and Professional Studies Department.